Posted by: Anastacio Martinez | August 8, 2011

“Going After Your DREAMS Regardless of Your Age” (1 of 2)

Many times I hear people saying I can’t do that because I’m too old or I’m too young to pursuit my passion. This is one of the most common limiting beliefs that people face when it comes to goal achievement.

I got inspired recently to write about this topic because I talked to someone whose dream was to become an actress. She is a very young and smart professional lady with a degree in engineering. Actually, her mindset is not letting her take the action toward what she really wants. I hope this article inspire people to get over this idea.

There is lot of people in this society who hold that idea and for that reason I decided to put together a 2 part series to show you examples of great men and woman who no matter what their age, dared to jump out of that cliff to pursue big hairy audacious dreams.

In this first part I will show you the old age group who regardless of their age they decided to conquer what they deeply wanted more than anyone. Here is what I found…

  • At 70, Colonel Sanders discovered “finger lickin’ good” chicken.
  • After 70, Ray Kroc the founder of McDonalds introduced the Big Mac to the World.
  • At 75, Casey Stengel became the manager of the Yankees baseball team.
  • At 88, Picasso was still painting.
  • At 80, Moses led 3 ½ million people out of captivity.
  • At 81, George Washington became head of the Agriculture Department.
  • At 85, Caleb said “Give me that mountain”.
  • At 85, Thomas Edison invented the mimeograph machine.
  • At 88, John Wesley who was still traveling on horseback and preaching.
  • At 100, Grandma Moses was still painting, and Titian painted “Battle of Lepants” when he was 98.
  • At 93, George Bernard Shaw wrote “Farfetched Fables.”
  • At 91, Eamon de Valera served as president of Ireland.
  • At 89, Arthur Rubinstein gave one of his greatest recitals in New York’s Carnegie Hall.
  • At 88, Pablo Casals still performed cello concerts.
  • At 82, Winston Churchill wrote the four-volume work, “A History of the English-Speaking Peoples,” Leo Tolstoy completed “I Cannot Be Silent,” and Goethe, at the same age, finished “Faust.”
  • At 81, Benjamin Franklin engineered the diplomacy, which led to the adoption of the U.S. Constitution.
  • At 77, Sister Madonna Buder finished the Ironman Hawaii (2.4 mile swim, 112 mile bike, 26.2 mile run).
  • At 42, Laura Vikmanis is the oldest cheerleader in the NFL (National Football League). 
  • At 98, Sensei Keiko Fukuda has become the first woman to achieve a tenth-degree black belt—the highest rank in the martial art and combat sport Judo.

Aging is not ‘lost youth’ but a new stage of opportunity and strength.” Betty Friedan

At what age do we give up? When are you “too old”? Only on the day when you truly have nothing left to give. And the good news is this: that day never has to arrive!!!

Now, I specially encourage you to read an actual story of a woman who yesterday evening, with a goal in her mind after decades, is attempting to swim from Cuba to Florida nonstop and without a shark cage in the Caribbean Seas.  At age 61 Diana Nyad is a perfect example of going against the odds regardless of the age. I hope that by the end of this article you got encourage by these ordinary people who decided to do extraordinary things.

Great!!! Join me back here next Monday in the second part. I will be covering the young group of people. Until now if you found value in this reading make sure to spread the word and share your thoughts in the comments below.

Thanks for stopping by!!!

You are a Champion 🙂

Connect with me on:

Responses

  1. I like it… I believe in all the ideas that you wrote on this article. I believe that we can do whatever we want. We just need, passion, courage and faith. Enhorabuena, continua escribiendo…. TQM

  2. WOW!!! Congratulations on being the first person who made a comment. Thanks for the cheerleading!!!

  3. I agree, and this applies to everything in life… Look at us: almost 30 and dancing till dawn!!! Really what prevents people from achieving their dreams is themselves, their mindsets.

  4. Great article my friend!! Really love it!!

    Here’s another story about a the first woman ever to earn Judo’s highest-degree black belt… at 98!!!

    Amazing!

    • Thanks brow I really appreciate adding another example to my list. You are the best!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

