Posted by: Anastacio Martinez | September 26, 2011

20 Great Lessons I’ve Learned From My Pet (1 of 2)

Photo: My pet "Coco Chanel" in my house's patio.

Who do you think is the man’s best friend? For years we have considered him/her the sweetest, most charming, protector of the house and one of the most reliable creatures in the world. He’s the best animal companion in human history and I think you already know the answer. Right? It’s the dog.

But this article is not about the dog. It’s about 20 great lessons I have personally learned from my pet that I strongly think could help us in our life, if we decide to apply them, as our best friend do through his/her life. These lessons could help us live better and have a more fulfilling and satisfying journey.

While reflecting this week about what should I write, I had many topics to pick up…  But I kept saying to myself there is a lot to learn from this animal. And because I have a very enthusiastic miniature schnauzer I couldn’t hold myself to share with you these lessons. If you are a pet lover, you especially know what I’m talking about and I know you are going to love this great ride.

I am very passionate person about the topic of personal development. Anything that is related to the topic of success principles, goal setting, mindset, etc. is more than satisfying for me to learn. Why? Because I know that in order to have better things in life, achieve our dreams, live healthy and so forth, we gotta grow ourselves first and do that continuously. It’s extremely important to remember this principle!!!

Here is what I found unique and interesting about my dog “Coco”. This lessons are POWERFUL!!! I hope you enjoy them as much as I do :-).

Let’s begin…

1. Have Fun – Most successful people have fun in what they do, and they even have fun in situations that aren’t that much fun.

Why wait for the weekend to have fun?” Loesje

2. Enjoy the Ride – Coco enjoys every time we take her with us, no matter where we go. Lately this topic keeps coming up, about enjoying the ride. Let’s move forward with enjoyment and excitement :-).

If you are not enjoying the journey, you probably won’t enjoy the destination.” Joe Tye

3. Protect Your Family – Coco is always protecting me and my wife wherever we go. Protect your love ones from the hidden evil.

“Families are the compass that guide us. They are the inspiration to reach great heights, and our comfort when we occasionally falter.” Brad Henry

4. Be Persistent – Even when the odds seem against her, she keeps fighting and trying until she get what she want. Give yourself a chance to go and conquer what you truly want.

“A little more persistence, a little more effort, and what seemed hopeless failure may turn to glorious success.” Elbert Hubbard

5. Be Tenacious – Be brave and courageous!!!

“Whatever course you decide upon there is always, someone to tell you that you are wrong. There are always difficulties arising with tempt you to believe that your critics are right. To map out a course of action and follow it to an end requires courage.” Ralph Waldo Emerson

6. Be Friendly – After several barks, she softens up and becomes a friendly pet, this has helped her get things she wouldn’t have had any other way. Become an easygoing person!!! This lesson will take you places…

“Be friendly to everyone. Those who deserve it the least needed the most.” Bo Bennett

7. Be Adventurous – Life is meant to be lived and why not taking the adventurous and dynamic side.

“If there was the opportunity to climb a mountain, or to go ballooning, or some adventurous activity, I would always be keen to do it. I loved the countryside. Roger Bannister (First man to run the mile under 4 minutes)

8. Be a Risk Taker – Always believe in yourself and take risks. Do something everyday that scares you :-).

“Living at risk is jumping off the cliff and building your wings on the way down.” Ray Bradbury

9. Be Happy – Happiness starts with you, your thoughts and attitudes about life. It’s a choice we make!!! Coco seems happy even after we reprimand her.

 “The purpose of our lives is to be happy.” Dalai Lama

10. Be Open to Receive – To receive what? Follow me in this one. Someone invites you to lunch, buy you tickets to watch a movie or to go to a concert or to go and enjoy your favorite sport game, or maybe offer you his/her chair so you can sit. Feel good about it when something like this happen… It’s a good thing to be an open jar.

“For every giver there must be a receiver, and for every receiver there must be a giver.” Unkown

These lessons are the real stuff and a great way to live life by. They can be our lighthouses in moments of dark and stress. And also a reminder of how to live life to the fullest.

How these lessons have inspired you? Share your thoughts and ideas in the comments section below!!!

Be sure to share this inspirational message with all your Facebook friends and Twitter followers. Looking forward to share with you the 2nd part next Monday. You are going to love it!!

Thanks for stopping by!!!

You are a Champion 🙂

PS: I want to thank my wife Lydiana for collaborating and for providing me unbelievable input.

Connect with me on:

Leave a Reply

Categories

